The Kidney Research Scientist Core Education and National Training Program — better known as KRESCENT — is an exciting and unique training initiative aimed at enhancing kidney research capacity in Canada. The goal of KRESCENT is to train an increased number of highly skilled scientists, with a focus on the prevention of end-stage renal disease and new treatments to improve the health of Canadians affected by kidney disease.

KRESCENT is a multi-partner collaboration, founded by the Kidney Foundation of Canada, the Canadian Society of Nephrology, and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

The KRESCENT Program is unique because participants are selected from all themes relevant to kidney research (e.g. biomedical, clinical, health services, and social, cultural, environmental and population health), and from multiple disciplines (e.g. basic scientists, clinician scientists, allied health and health service researchers).

The KRESCENT Program offers a national core curriculum and mentorship. Participants gain exposure to a curriculum that emphasizes the development of transdisciplinary research and knowledge translation across research themes. The curriculum is focused on kidney research themes and is meant to complement any core coursework/ degree programs in research design, methodology, and other core content areas, which might be available within participating institutions.


CSN would like to thank all of the individuals who have contributed their time and made donations to support the KRESCENT program.  The following CSN members have contributed to KRESCENT through their CSN Membership in 2023.

Adriana BerbeceEtobicokeONCA
Amit GargLondonONCA
Andrea MazuratWinnipegMBCA
Andrew HouseLondonONCA
Andrew WadeCalgaryABCA
Anna MathewHamiltonONCA
Annick LaplanteMontrealQCCA
Anurag SinghPrince GeorgeBCCA
Bharat NathooMarkhamONCA
Bogdan MomciuKingstonONCA
Brad UrquhartLondonONCA
Braden MannsCalgaryABCA
Brenda HemmelgarnEdmontonABCA
Caroline StigantVictoriaBCCA
Catherine WeberWestmountQCCA
Cedric EdwardsOttawaONCA
Chandra ThomasCalgaryABCA
Chandra ThomasCalgaryABCA
Charushree PrasadOakvilleONCA
Chor Chiat GohPointe-claireQCCA
Christine DipchandHalifaxNSCA
Claire HarrisVancouverBCCA
Clara BohmWinnipegMBCA
Claudio RigattoWinnipegMBCA
Daniel FromentLongueuilQCCA
Daniel MuruveCalgaryABCA
Daniel SchwartzVancouverBCCA
David ClarkHalifaxNSCA
David LandsbergVancouverBCCA
David MendelssohnOakvilleONCA
David PerkinsTorontoONCA
David WardCalgaryABCA
Dean HickeyBathurstNBCA
Dominique DupuisMontrealQCCA
Drew HagerWinnipegMBCA
Edward (Ted) ClarkOttawaONCA
Edwin ToffelmireKingstonONCA
Emilie TrinhMontrealQCCA
Francois MadoreMontrealQCCA
G V Ramesh PrasadTorontoONCA
Gaylene HargroveVictoriaBCCA
Geena JosephRenfrewONCA
George SoltysVerdunQCCA
Gerald Da RozaWest VancouverBCCA
Gerald MIciakHudsonQCCA
Gerald RosensteinTorontoONCA
Greg KnollOttawaONCA
Gurbir SekhonCambridgeONCA
Harold BorensteinNorth YorkONCA
Hassan A. MustafaBrandonMBCA
Heather N. ReichTorontoONCA
Husam AlzayerSaihatEastern ProvinceSA
Janis DionneVancouverBCCA
Januvi JegatheswaranGloucesterONCA
Jean EthierMontréalQCCA
Jean-Philippe LafranceMontrealQCCA
Jennifer MacRaeCalgaryABCA
Jim W. BartonSaskatoonSKCA
Joanne BargmantorontoONCA
John DuncanVancouverBCCA
Josee BouchardMontrealQCCA
Joslyn ConleyKamloopsBCCA
Julian MidgleyCalgaryABCA
Justin ChunCalgaryABCA
Justin WaltersWinnipegMBCA
Kevin BurnsCantleyQCCA
Krishna PoinenVictoriaBCCA
Krista FudgeSteady BrookNLCA
Krista RyzWinnipegMBCA
Lisa MillerWinnipegMBCA
Lonnie PyneAncasterONCA
Marcello TonelliCalgaryABCA
Mathieu LemaireTorontoONCA
Meghan ElliottCalgaryABCA
Michael CoplandNorth VancouverBCCA
Michael PaulSt. Johns S.NLCA
Micheli BevilacquaBurnabyBCCA
Michelle HladunewichTorontoONCA
Monica BeaulieuNorth VancouverBCCA
Naomi GlickNanaimoBCCA
Navdeep TangriWinnipegMBCA
Ngan LamCalgaryABCA
Nikhil ShahEdmontonABCA
Paul BarreMont RoyalQCCA
Paul SohiRothesayNBCA
Paul V. KomendaWinnipegMBCA
Rahul ChanchlaniOakvilleONCA
Rami El FishawyBouchervilleQCCA
Raymond M. HakimNashvilleTNUS
Reid WhitlockWinnipegMBCA
Rey AcedilloThunder BayONCA
Rohan JohnTorontoONCA
Roland DyckSaskatoonSKCA
Ruimeng XingEdmontonABCA
Ruth Sapir-PichhadzeMontrealQCCA
Samuel SilverKingstonONCA
Scott KlarenbachEdmontonABCA
Sean BarbourVancouverBCCA
Selina Omar AlluCalgaryABCA
Serge CournoyerLongueuilQCCA
Shaifali SandalMontrealQCCA
Siva ThanamayooranEast BayNSCA
Sofia AhmedCalgaryABCA
Swapnil HiremathOttawaONCA
Sylvie RobichaudBathurstNBCA
Todd FairheadOttawaONCA
Vassilios PoulopoulosTorontoONCA
William Beaubien-SoulignySaint-LambertQCCA

Have A Question?

Click here to contact us or reach out to us via phone or email using the contact methods below.

The Canadian Society of Nephrology

Supporting Nephrology Practice & Research

P.O. Box 25255 RDP
Montreal, QC
H1E 7P9
Ph: 514-643-4985

Quick Links

  • Log into your profile

  • 2021 AGM Info

  • News & Events

  • Follow us on Twitter

  • Job Board


Member Support


General Inquiries



CSN is an accredited provider of continuing professional development (CPD) for the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Scroll to Top